For Megan

By Rob Boss

So when Krista approached me about writing this, I was hesitant.  Mainly because I am not a feelings person and generally keep things pretty close to the chest.  But if there is going to be a topic in which I share my feelings, my wife Megan is worth stepping out of that “box” for.

I don’t think that you can really say that there is one thing about someone that makes you love them.  I really think it’s the majority of a 225009_659162451395_533218394_nperson that draws you to them and makes you want to spend the rest of your life with them.  My wife, Megan, is a 1st Lieutenant in the Army.  She is currently deployed to Afghanistan and has been there since last August.  Her dedication would be the first thing that I love about her.  When she has something that she believes in, she pursues it with such a conviction that it really is awe inspiring.  The military is not the easiest on families as many of you probably know, but Megan is able to balance the task of preparing to defend our country while still being there for her husband and her family.

The next, and probably the biggest reason, that I fell so deeply in love with Megan is how caring she is.  She puts other people, and pets, well before herself on a daily basis.  Megan’s father has been battling terminal cancer for the past 3 or 4 years and when she got stationed in Clarksville TN, she decided that she would buy a house big enough for him to come and live with her.  She wanted him to do this because close by was one of the largest cancer fighting hospitals in the US and so she would be able to make sure he was cared for and also 381558_599197686265_97442127_nto be able to spend as much time with him before he passed as she could.  Since she was already buying a house bigger than just for herself, Megan also decided to ask her sister, who was struggling to get by in Maryland, if she would like to come and stay with her as well to get back on her feet.  These are just the selfless things that Megan does for others.  I won’t even get into the rescuing of a mangy dog on the side of the road who now lives at the house as well haha.

The last and final thing I want to share about why I love my wife is that she challenges me.  She challenges me when I think that I’m right, 191938_658444115945_994499500_oshe challenges me when I think that she’s wrong.  She challenges me to be a better person every day.  Neither of us our perfect and we are by no means the same person or have the same upbringing or views on how the world works.  But we challenge each other to see the other side, to consider a different opinion by someone who has different life experiences than you do.   She’s my other half.  And together, I think we make a pretty good team.

Leave a Reply

