For Jenn

By Brad Dugan

Love Letter Image 1Being asked why I love my wife has caused me evaluate how I define the word love. As I look at my wife tonight, there is no way I could have known when I said “I DO” seven years ago how much I would end up loving her. The first time I said I love you as a married couple, I felt that there was no way I could possibly fit more love in my heart. I am proven wrong as each day passes by on this adventure of life. Love to me now is so much more than the feeling I had when she walked down the aisle as my new bride. Love is a daily commitment to this adventure together and everything that brings with it. We have had some great days and some really bad days, but the love was always there. In this new understanding of love, I have found that it has grown me closer to God, made me a better father, and gives me a drive to be the husband God created me to be.

I told my wife on our first date the she was awesome, and I stand by that statement to this day. On that day I accompanied her as she took some of her free time to teach a self-defense class to females living in the CMSU (UCM) dorms. Not only was she very impressive at teaching self-defense, she was drop dead gorgeous. I knew in the moment that I announced her awesomeness on our walk back up to her dorm room that I had to find out more about her. To my surprise she accepted my proposal only a few short months after our first date. I love that even seven years into our adventure I am still learning about her heart. The more I learn, the more I feel that I am so lucky to even know this woman, let alone spend my evenings laughing and raising children.

Many of our closest friends know that my wife is a modern day hippie. While I do not classify myself as a hippie, I will admit that my wife

Create your own superhero party
Create your own superhero party

has converted me on several aspects of life that I wouldn’t have thought about if I didn’t know her. As I watch the time she spends in researching products and techniques, I see the absolute dedication she has towards our family. She doesn’t like to talk about it much, but my wife gave birth to two 10 pound babies without a single drop of pain medication. I have never seen such focus and dedication in my life! Most would consider going without pain medication lunacy, but if you talked to Jennifer for two minutes, it becomes readily apparent that she would do anything for the ones she loves. She didn’t have any medication to absolutely ensure that none of the pain medication side effects hurt the babies. Obviously she knew that the risk was very low, but even that small risk was enough to deter her. That same thought process flows through every one of her actions. She thinks she is just some normal woman doing the things she has done for those girls and our family, but to me, she is a Super Woman.

I chose March 8th to do this letter because it is the birthday of our youngest daughter Jillian. The celebration of the life of each of our children is one of Jennifer’s greatest joys. While I am only 30 years old, I have found it to be exceedingly rare to find a person that is so focused on doing exactly what God has called you to do with your life. Jennifer takes no greater pride in her life than being the mother God created her to be. Without her being the mother she is, I would not be the man I am today. She is the best friend I have ever known, and everyone that calls her a friend is a better person by knowing her.

Love letter image 3Jennifer, I love you more than you can ever know. Thank you so much for your daily sacrifices that go unnoticed by me. I would also like to thank you for your humor. I know you don’t think I like your jokes, but you are seriously one of the funniest women I have ever interacted with.

Leave a Reply

