For Sara

A Soldier’s Wife
by Michael Garcia

I hate when I have to leave her
And she hates when I leave
I wish I could tell her why or where
A soldiers wife is expected to understand
It’s not fair to her
She holds back her tears
And wonders where his are
This soldier is callused, no emotion
He lacks compassion to what is so near
Where is he she wonders
He’s right here, but where is he really?
Her tears begin to flow
He notices but misses the true reason
He’s gone once again
She’s a soldier’s wife, life continues
Kids, school, bills and groceries
Where is he, when will he be home
It’s not fair to her
She didn’t sign the papers
She’s not fighting this war
But she is
Our country is in debt to her
But she gets nothing
She is the true soldier
She has fought all these wars
She has died countless times in an empty bed
Her tears flow relentlessly
He’s still gone
What has she done to deserve this
Kids crying, bills piling
He calls, he’s ok, she wants to stay positive
He knows she’s hurt, he wants to stay positive
Her feelings go unnoticed
He’s gone again
Her tears now more powerful than before
She’s a soldier’s wife, time didn’t allow
It never allows
Her feelings get buried through the years
He doesn’t know where to start, so he doesn’t
It’s a life of short bursts of positivity
Her feelings get buried through the years
She’s strong, she pulls through
He assumes everything is alright
She’s a soldier’s wife
Her feelings got buried through the years

ImageSara, you have been an amazing women over the years.  We were just kids when we started this life together.  You have always been there for me; I wish I could say the same for you.  I’m sorry for all the hard times you have gone through; you didn’t deserve those things I did, or those words I said.  Too many times I’ve left you alone, I’m sorry.  I think of you often; I think of all the things I could say to you, so many times I didn’t   I’m sorry.  You have stayed strong over the years; you are truly a gift from God.  He has given you a beautiful spirit.  I wish I could show you a fraction of the love and forgiveness you’ve shown me.  You carry on so many times when I don’t think I could, your strength amazes me.  You have shown me how be kind, show grace, forgive, be patient and most of all, love you.  You have shown me everything.  I am more grateful to you than I could ever show.  I love you.  You have endured through tough times; our family is strong because of you.  You have stayed committed to our family and given me understanding of what it means to be committed.  I will not give up on you.  I know I can trust you.  I know that you will be there for me and tell me when I’m not for you.  I appreciate your honesty.  You’ve grown into an amazing woman.  You’re kind, gentle, understanding and amazingly patient with me.  You have become a greater example for our children than I could imagine.  You are a beautiful mother!  You have become a friend to our children; they love you, respect you and trust you.  We all trust you.  You are a very special person to me and I know I can do better showing you.  I dedicate the rest of my life to showing you what you have done for me.  I will be there for you.  I will listen.  I will be patient and understanding.  I can do better, you deserve a better me.  I love you more than I have ever shown you.  I’m sorry.  I won’t ignore your feelings any longer; I won’t let them get buried.  I will be a better listener.  You deserve a better me.

One thought on “For Sara

Leave a Reply

