For Corie

by Rob Schoeneberg

524426_519504228075304_812159345_n“Beautiful, wise, light-hearted, compassionate, God-fearing, sweet, discerning, affectionate, courageous, and graceful; these are the kinds of words we use to express why we love someone. Of course they are all true, but they are too simplistic and wholly inadequate to express the reasons why I love my wife. They are equivalent to one’s first glance at a 3D picture which may invite you in to intently gaze but can never reveal the deeper meaning of the image. Much in the same way, the love I feel for my bride was not acquired in one brief glance, but rather the product of a great deal of time spent gaping into her heart, her soul, and her mind. It was in that focused pursuit that I saw her entirely unique and remarkable take on all of those qualities I described above. It is not just that my wife is beautiful and wise; it is her exclusive form of beauty and her particular type of wisdom which made me feel as though I would never tire of staring at her or sharing conversations with her. It is her sweetness and her affection which convinced me that my heart was returning to the cast from which our hearts were originally made. It is her smile and her joyfulness which daily make me wonder why this woman would let me call her my wife, the mother of my children, and my best friend. Taken together, it is her singularly unique version of these qualities that make her who she is, the girl that I so deeply respect, admire, and adore. And at the end of it all, I realize both why I love my wife and why I will never be able to explain it in such a way that someone else will fully understand… I love her because she is mine and I am hers. “

Leave a Reply

