New Year’s Rez

There’s possibly nothing more cliche than writing about my New Year’s resolution on New Year’s day, and I’m not even really into New Year’s resolutions, but I do hope to blog more in 2013, so I might as well start today.

My resolutions this year are:
-publish a blog post once per week
-be more intentional about my morning quiet times- ever since marriage my desire to stay in bed as long as possible has significantly decreased my time in reading and prayer
-be more intentional about working out (at least 3-4 times per week)- ever since working at Pathways my energy levels have been at an all-time low. I’ve given myself a year of grace to adjust to my job and now I need to kick myself in the butt.

I think I’d like to be a better person too, but I’m not sure how to word that as a resolution…Every new year I’m reminded of the quote, “every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.” As with anything in life, New Year’s is both bitter and sweet. We say goodbye to the babies and hello to little toddlers. Goodbye to being newlyweds and hello to being a married couple. Goodbye to fantastic memories or eras and hello to new ones. 

So, I wonder, what parts of my personality should I say goodbye to (selfishness, pride, impatience) and what ones will I hopefully be saying hello to (humility, generosity, activism)?  I want my life to matter, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned in life it’s that change must start with me- in marriage, at work, in relationship with family, in activism- change starts here.

“Everyone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing himself.” -Leo Tolstoy

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Rez

  1. I got it in my email. You told me to let you know. 🙂

    I think I your post is amazing and speaks right to what I was thinking for myself and how I needed to change.. My ONE THING/WORD for the year: Letting Go… but I am not sure what it entails yet.

Leave a Reply

