Ode to Routine

I was talking with a friend the other day about how much I love routine.

Seriously, I love routine.

Remember that obnoxious thing kids used to say if you said you loved something? They would ask (with intentional aggravation) “if you love it so much, why don’t you marry it?”

Well I totally would; I would marry routine… If I wasn’t already engaged to the wonderful and charming Nicholas.

But, my relationship with routine is still dreamy. Routine offers something Nick never will- predictability. Nick is actually pretty predictableJ, but he’s not as predictable as routine. And these are words I adore- predictable, controlled, organized.

My routine is all of these things, and I invite it into as much of my life as possible.

I love routine in the morning- wake up, read Bible, pray, get dressed, watch Today Show while I put on make-up and do my hair, eat breakfast, brush and floss teeth, put lipstick on using rear view mirror as I drive to get coffee, drink said coffee while frantically writing emails and making phone calls to plan my wedding and keep up with friends.

I love routine when I go to bed- brush my teeth, wash my face (if I feel like it), put lotion on my face, put Burt’s Bee’s Lifeguard’s Formula on my lips and then Vaseline, put lotion on my hands, spend five minutes in listening prayer, call Nick to say goodnight, sleep.

I love routine in the shower- shampoo, conditioner, hair up in clip so it’s not in my face, body wash, shaving, face wash, rinse, towel dry, lotion, gel in hair.

I love routine in the way I make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich- spread the peanut butter, then spread the jam over the peanut butter rather than on the other piece of bread, so it’s not quite as soggy- as my childhood friend, Rachel Kanine (now Campbell) taught me so many years ago.

I love routine in the way I eat- following salty foods with water and sweet ones with wine, and the way I put on make-up- foundation first, blush, and then eyes, and in the way I cook- cleaning up as I go so it doesn’t suck quite so much after I eat.

Routine keeps things in order. I love order.

Perhaps this is why my job is so stressful- I never know what to expect when a client walks in the room.

Perhaps this is why marriage is so scary- my routine will be forever disrupted.

And I really have no good conclusion to this post…only to reiterate, I love my routine.

One thought on “Ode to Routine

  1. I am on the same page as you. Scary as it sounds, your routine in just about everything you listed (from your shower and makeup application order to how you make your PB&J) is literally identical to mine! But as far as marriage goes, I wouldn’t say your routine will be forever “disrupted”—it’s just going to change. You’ll get routine, just a new one. One you share with someone else. Hope the wedding planning is going well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

