Karen Doyle

Girl Friends

Faithful girlfriends are to die for. I love them. My childhood neighbors were my first girlfriends. We were together constantly playing in the street, backyards or someone’s house. My parents weren’t concerned about my whereabouts unless the street lights came on and I had not returned home- that was the rule.  As years passed, these same friends visited me in college, one was a bridesmaid in my wedding (1983), and when my Dad passed away, she/her husband provided tables/chairs for 40-50 people.

In the past two years, I’ve reconnected with girlfriends I went to school with. It had been over 30 years since I had seen some of these women, but their laughter, mannerisms, voices, and smiles were still the same. In addition to their individual characteristics, Jesus had changed their lives, too. I was in San Antonio and I needed God to encourage me and He sent these women. What a treat!
It’s been almost 25 years ago, when women from our church embraced me. My relatives lived in Texas and long distance phone calls were expensive. Our church family filled the gap. We didn’t have a “Moms Like Me” or “MOPS” group. The young couples were few. Many of these women were 20 or more years older than me. Some are still in our church today. I will always remember how some of these women were at the hospital when our children were born, cared for me and my family when I went through cancer treatments, one assisted with swim lessons, many rocked our kids in the nursery and taught them in Sunday School. I love these women.

The past 20+ years, I’ve had the privilege of building long-lasting friendships with women living in Warrensburg.  Together, we’ve raised our children, celebrated holidays, and experienced small town life. We’ve endured the good, bad and ugly experiences in life. We’ve enjoyed exercising, shopping, watching movies, eating at restaurants, serving on mission trips, attending women conferences, watching ballgames and children events, hanging out in coffee shops, and serving each other. We’ve made some lasting memories on vacations and snuck in a few surprise parties as well.

God has truly blessed me with great “girl” friends.

Thanks Krista for sharing your friends with us this month.

Karen lives with her husband Dennis and son Austin in Warrensburg, MO. Karen and Dennis have three other children who have left home- Nate, Landry, and Katelyn. Karen has her doctorate and currently works for Cleveland Chiropractic College in Overland Park, KS.

One thought on “Karen Doyle

Leave a Reply

