Amber Taylor

When trying to figure out what to write about or worthy of sharing about women I know or even being a woman, I’ve come to the conclusion that as a gender we are much stronger than we give ourselves credit for.  I’ve watched my sister battle mental illness for over twenty years with so much grace and not once said “why me?” She is married to an incredible man and together they are raising two beautiful boys, one of which has recently begun his own mental struggle. I am blessed to have a mom that gives me the space and freedom I need as a wife and mom but never fails to encourage me and pray for me every step of the way.   A mom who after beginning her own relationship with Christ, would not stop praying until her daughters were safe in His kingdom as well.

I’ve learned that the phrase “age aint nothin but a number” really is true.  Age is irrelevant when it comes to the ways God uses you in the lives of others. .  Over the last few years I’ve had the privilege of walking alongside a diverse slew of women that I would call friends, even sisters.  God has put women older than me in my life to help me grow in my faith and encourage me in my marriage as well as calm me in my motherhood when, try as I may, I fall short in being the perfect mom that Carly, David, and Jacob deserve.  He’s given me wonderful friends who are the next step ahead of me with their children and have allowed me to hammer them with questions about the teenage years. Carly will be there way too quickly I fear … Women who are right where I’m at with their families and together we pray for each other, memorize God’s word together and hold each other accountable so that we walk what we confess to believe.  We encourage each other in our marriages and are there for each other and our kids.

God has even allowed me inside the life of some teenagers over the last few years who though not perfect desperately love Jesus.  They’ve challenged me in my own faith and shown incredible love to my kids as though they were their own.  I have a whole new respect for this generation who have so much more to offer than their babysitting services.  They feel stuck in high school when they are desperate to start their own lives and families.  We’ve walked together through some awesome times of laughter, silliness and success and I’ve had the painful privilege of holding them while they cry through some dark times of failure and pain.

Women come in many shapes, sizes, ages, backgrounds, and personalities but one thing seems to be consistent in them all.  We long to be loved, encouraged, included and accepted by one another and when we feel as though we aren’t I’ve personally seen its ugliness.  Sometimes we forget that while God graciously and mercifully puts us with other women on this journey, they are not our ultimate source of love.  God is so loving and patient while He waits for us to come to him when we are dehydrated by life.  The living water he offers us is an endless supply and more fulfilling than anything this fallen world has to offer.  Father thank you for your provision in this life but more importantly what you have waiting for me in the next!

Amber has been living in Warrensburg for 8 years.  She has been married for 12 years to Charles and has Carly who’s 11, David who is 8, and Jacob who is 3.  She’s been working at FBC in the Children’s Ministry for 2 years and continues to be amazed and sometimes stubborn at the things God has shown her and the ways He has stretched her.  Amber’s favorite verse right now is 2 Corinthians 12:9 He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses so that Christ’s power may rest on me. She love it because it frees her to be herself….

One thought on “Amber Taylor

Leave a Reply

