Jenn Dugan

At this stage of my life, when asked what it is to be a woman, for me, it equals motherhood. I have never felt more feminine and utterly irreplaceable in my life. My youngest daughter turns 2 this week. I feel like motherhood is a sort of time warp. There’s no way it has been two years since she was born, since my body grew life, since that life changed my life. I thought having my second child, especially another girl, it would be like repeat, another Lauren Grace all over again. Thankfully, there were a lot of differences! My first child, Lauren Grace, was a terrible sleeper. Happy, but always awake….making Mommy very sleepy and occasionally unhappy! Jillian Joy came in to this world with a raucous scream, quieted while I held her and nursed her, screamed the entire time they weighed and measured her, and immediately calmed in my arms. At 2 years old, it’s not a whole lot different. She is the clingiest child I have ever met. We still battle child care when we go to church on Sundays and I help in her classroom at our homeschool co-op so that we are together. I finished nursing my first daughter at 15 months, wanting at least a few months of my body being my own before getting pregnant again; Jillian is still happily getting her “num-nums”. Essentially, I must be a woman to provide what my child needs. No other person on the planet can provide for my children like I can. No pressure… This place in my life is bringing me to a lot of decisions I thought I had already made. I knew I would breastfeed, coming from a family that is very encouraging of that choice. I didn’t know I would still be nursing a child that could request it, which goes against our society’s norm. I knew I would be a stay at home mom. I didn’t know I would be staying at home well in to the school age years to provide said school. I knew I would be concerned about my children’s health and growth and nutrition. I had no idea I would be considering a vegan diet and giving them herbal supplements in their juice every day and insanely reading nutrition labels while my girls threaten to jump out of the cart because they are tired of shopping. I’m beginning to embrace the label “hippy”. If it means my children are well fed and healthy and we are caring for the earth at the same time, so be it. There is nothing I would rather be doing. At the dinner table the other night, we have some conversation starter cards and one read, “What is holding you back from your dream?”. I happily answered, “I’m living the dream” 🙂 Sure, there are details here and there that could be better. The core of my life is everything I could have dreamed. A God who is leading me in to new and incredible adventures every day, a husband who I love and who loves me, and beautiful healthy children that I get to stay home with. I am so grateful for the blessing of being me, a follower of Christ, a wife, a mother, a woman.

Jenn is married to Brad, mother of Jillian and Laren, and step-mother to Kayla. She is very involved in the women’s ministry at her church. Jenn and her family live in Warrensburg, MO.

2 thoughts on “Jenn Dugan

Leave a Reply

