Katelyn Doyle

Being a woman is something that is new to me. Now, of course I’ve always been a girl but being a woman I feel like is something on a whole different level. It’s something that I’ve recently discovered; it’s something I’ve realized I’m becoming. I’m not quite sure where or how I acquired such information, but it’s something I’m growing into and it’s really exciting!

This past year my life has drastically changed and I think becoming said woman started with this change.

I sleep at a different address, I eat at a different table, I attend a different school, I hang out with different friends and I go to different places.

I moved from my brown and pink-stripped bedroom to a small cinder-blocked dorm room.
I went from eating at a beautiful wooden kitchen table with freshly cooked meals to a small dining hall table with somewhat-freshly-cooked-but-usually-not meals.
I woke up early to spend seven hours at a High School; rarely caring about what I was learning to spending hours a week studying five different subjects that I pay big bucks to learn.
I hung out with my friends from kindergarten, goofing around a town I know so well to surrounding myself with people who I had prayed to one day meet, staying up late talking about our passions or dancing to silly songs.
I used to spend my time driving around or exploring Wal-Mart to stressing hours away at the library, eating late night appetizers are Applebee’s and worshiping at a new church.

It blows my mind to look back at all these changes, but actually living these changes has felt more normal than I had ever thought. I actually feel like I’m living out God’s will for my life, and I love every second of it.

I never would have expected a year ago that my cup would continuously overflow like it currently is. God has blessed me more than I ever thought possible, and when I fought him for months he continued to be faithful. Through these past months I’ve made more genuine friendships than I ever did my first 18 years of life (now I really love my best friends, but the amount of genuine friendships have increased ten fold). I’ve made plenty of mistakes, learning that I ultimately have no control. I’ve pushed myself out of my comfort zone, forcing myself to depend more on the Lord. I’ve changed a lot but it’s been the best sort of change.

Actually having to grow up has been strange but I really think God’s helping me do it right. Living out God’s will has been incredibly fulfilling, and I’m pretty sure becoming an inspiring woman is a part of that will. Now, I’m not sure that I know how to become a woman, but I know it’s something I crave. I think all of these crazy things God has done in my life are slowly but surely molding me into whatever a strong, courageous, talented woman looks like. While I’m only at the starting point of this journey, I’m really excited to see how I discover more of this being a woman thing. I think it’s going to turn out to be something really great. We’ll just have to see!

Katelyn is a freshman student, and kind of a hipster, at the Central Missouri University in Warrensburg, MO. She works on campus and is involved in her local Christian Campus House. I first got to know Katelyn when we traveled to Serbia together. She has a beautiful spirit and a kind heart.

One thought on “Katelyn Doyle

Leave a Reply

