A Backwards Christmas

I’ve written all these holiday blogs but they have rarely mentioned Jesus. That seems backwards.

I keep up with my “Bible in a year” plan every other year, except at Christmas time. That’s when I fall behind. That seems backwards.

It’s Christmas Eve and I’m the only one of my siblings at home right now. That seems backwards.

I have two degrees, a professional license and three years experience but can’t find a job. That seems backwards.

I feel worthless and ugly a lot of the time, but a lot of people love me despite my flaws. That seems backwards.

This Christmas has been a hard one for me.

I keep thinking about Jesus, this little baby that came for me. Jesus, this boy that saved the world. Jesus, this man who loves me like no other.

Oh, I thank God for that love.

How could I hear the stories I’ve heard, and not know His love?
How could I repent the sins I’ve committed and not trust His love?
How could I move through feelings of hopelessness and not count on His love?
How could I look into the faces of my niece and nephew and not see a glimpse of His love?
How could I grieve pain and loss and not rest in His love?
How could I offer myself in relationship and not learn from His love?
How could I love and be loved, forgive and be forgiven, if He hadn’t loved me first?

O holy night, the stars are brightly shining;
It is the night of the dear Savior’s birth.
Long lay the world in sin and error pining,
Till He appeared and the soul -my soul- felt its worth.
A thrill of hope, the weary world rejoices,
For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn.

In this backwards world. I thank God for Jesus.

4 thoughts on “A Backwards Christmas

  1. Thank you for writing this. I’m working in retail this year and its becoming overwhelming to see the amount of people who aren’t kind and just cruel. Its hard to see Christ’s love in people i guess, but this ‘backwards Christmas’ blog definitely reminded me of His never ending love for an ‘error pining world.’ So thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

