Day 28 – Being a Girl

So here we are…a group of talented, eclectic, even brilliant women. But at the end of the day, when we’re finally alone, we’re peering down into the black hole in our hearts. Our insatiable, inexplicable longing probes the emptiness much the same way you do when you can’t keep your tongue out of the sensitive, empty spot that once held a decaying tooth. – Sarah Ban Breathnach

This quote used to describe me.

I hope it doesn’t any longer.

I hope, I think, that black hole of success and busy-ness and doing has been replaced with a genuine heart and open spirit. And part of that genuineness has been accepting- embracing even- my femininity.

So tonight I enjoyed a fun girl’s night of painting nails, face masks, and a little wine and whiskey with my sister and her friend.

God’s grace tonight was in being “girly.”

Leave a Reply

