Day 26 – Confidence

“I wish I’d known from the beginning that I was born a strong woman. What a difference it would have made! I wish I’d known that I was born a courageous woman; I’ve spent so much of my life cowering. How many conversations would I not only have started but finished if I had known I possessed a warrior’s heart? I wish I’d known that I’d been born to take on the world; I wouldn’t have run from it for so long, but run to it  with open arms.” -Sarah Ban Breathnach

I recently read a lovely little youth’s literature novel called Bloody Jack. Without giving too much away, I’ll tell you that it was about a little girl who was orphaned when her parents died of the plague. Not wanting to beg for a living anymore, and realizing that she was much more likely to get honest work as a boy than a girl, she chopped her hair and convinced the Navy to let her on their voyage as a “ship’s boy.” Throughout the book, she does incredibly courageous and selfless things. Yet, throughout the book she is constantly thinking, “I never was very brave, anyhow.”

If I had a quarter for every time I talked with or met a woman who was ignorant of her own talents or beauty…or for every time I disparage myself…

I feel blessed because I have had people in my life who have affirmed what they saw as good in me- my parents, my siblings, my friends, my coworkers.

Many women (and men, I’m sure) have not had this experience. They have only been told what they do wrong, and so- like Bloody Jack(y)- they go through life believing lies about themselves.

When you see good in someone, tell them. You may be the only person in his or her life with the love and compassion to do so.

Fathers, affirm you sons and daughters. Mothers do the same.

You know all this. I know all this.

Yet, I don’t compliment people nearly enough. This has come out most clearly in my relationship with Nick. He’s great at affirming me, but I suck at affirming him. I think I’m afraid that if I tell him how great he is, he’ll know that I don’t deserve him or something. Or he won’t love me as well if he knows how highly I think of him.

Heavens, how did I get so far off topic?

The point: God’s grace to me today is in giving me the confidence to know that I am a strong woman with a warrior’s heart (I just need to be brave enough to share it a little more often;)

And for those of you ladies who have forgotten how super you are- listen to this song (I know I’ve posted it before, but I couldn’t find it, and it’s worth posting twice anyway:)

4 thoughts on “Day 26 – Confidence

  1. Oh Thank you for the reminder today…. I don’t feel brave all the time. And I am starting to realize in talking with Matt that I don’t affirm him either. I just learned that recently.

  2. Wow I love this song – going on my Ipod right now. I just reread Maya Angelou “Phenomenal Woman” again….Always makes me care my head higher when it gets hard. We are all much stronger than we think we are. I recently bought a word art for the center of the quote by Christopher Robin about being brave and strong. One of my favorites. It’s what I want every woman who comes in to remember. Keep your head up, strong woman.

Leave a Reply

