Day 20 – Rain on a Sunny Day

When it’s over, so they say,
It’ll rain a sunny day,
I know
Shining down like water. 

I’m halfway through my 40 Days of Grace. I began this quest to find gratitude and contentment in the midst of a trying time. On this 20th day I’m reflecting on the journey so far.

I’m not sure if I feel more gratitude- for from the start I’ve been thankful for the beauty of nature and the blessing of relationships. I’m not sure I’m content, for I still struggle with finding my worth in my employment status.

But I do feel better. Just generally, better.

I’m not sure if it’s because I’ve been looking for God’s grace more or because of a turn in life events. Some things have taken a turn for the worse. Some have definitely taken a turn for the better.

Thinking back, here are some things I’ve found to feel good about:
– I’ve been available to babysit for my niece
– Spent time visiting my nephew
– Led a breakout session at the FBC Women’s Retreat
– Offered free counseling to people in my church in Charlevoix
– Am planning a Blue Christmas service at my church in Charlevoix
– Am planning to speak at the Blue Christmas service at FBC
– Am planning to visit Kati in December, since she can’t make it home for Thanksgiving or Christmas
– Have received compliments on my blog from people who report they’re encouraged by it (this is such an example of God’s grace- why would anyone be encouraged by my mundane ramblings and whining? yet, God uses even this)
– Spent much time in personal reflection and processing to decide what to do about my relationship with Nick (and decided I want to be with him:)
– Read several books
– Wrote. A lot.

And so it’s like the CCR song, Have You Ever Seen the Rain?

The song asks
I want to know, have you ever seen the rain
I want to know, have you ever seen the rain
Comin down on a sunny day? 

Yes. I think if we’re honest we’d all say that our life is characterized by rain on sunny days (or sun on rainy days). Some days it’s important to let ourselves be soaked by the rain. Others, we need to feel the warmth of the sun.

God’s grace lately has been in the eyes to see the blinding sun through the drowning rain.

One thought on “Day 20 – Rain on a Sunny Day

  1. I am so grateful for your friendship and your blog Krista! I think I am going to try and do a month of gratitude here in November. Thank you for showing a different perspective.

Leave a Reply

