Days 16-17: Parents

Day 16- Yesterday was my version of a perfect fall day. It was cold, cloudy, and covered in leaves. So when Ilah cried and pointed to the door after Bumpa went out to do yard work, how could I resist taking her out to play? My mom got her bundled up as I got my warm stuff on, and then I took Ilah out while mom put her coat and shoes on.

So there we all were, doing yard work and playing with Ilah together.

I threw a few frisbees to Sky, and Ilah stood by and laughed with delight every time Skylar tore after the disc. Then I twirled a giggling Ilah around in circles under our large Oak tree until I got dizzy enough to threaten a tumble.

After that, mom took over Ilah duty as I helped dad around the yard with a few things- mostly carrying our kayaks, bikes and hammock to storage. I hate to admit it–especially risking my dad might read this–but I’ve grown to enjoy manual labor and outdoor work.

This was not always the case. I complained through plenty of years of mowing the lawn, raking the leaves, and stacking wood to get us through the winter.

Oh, and there was that time he made us re-shingle the roof on our own- because, “why would you pay someone to do what you can do yourself?”

Yes, I remember this well because re-shingling the roof fell on one of the hottest weeks of summer (upper 90s all week, which for us Northerners is sheer torture) and on conditioning week for basketball. Every morning I got up at 6am for a 3 hour basketball practice, came home to slave atop a hot roof, went to my job at the Country Club as a beer cart girl on the golf course, and then went to my second 3 hour basketball practice of the day in the evening. My dad thought this was a great schedule for me, as I heard his oft (and still oft) repeated phrase, “it builds character!”

All this to say, I hated so much hard work growing up, but I’m glad for the work ethic it taught me. Thanks dad.

Day 17- This morning I slept in until 8:30. While I’m doing my devos at 8:45, I get a phone call to sub. This sub job starts in fifteen minutes, so I’ve gotta get rockin- and let me just honestly say that I didn’t mind that I couldn’t finish my Bible reading for the day, because I’ve been in the prophets (Jeremiah, Ezekial, and Isaiah) like all month, and they’re painfully tedious. I mean it’s like page after tiny print page of “God’s angry with you. Repent! If you don’t repent he’s going to kill you. And your children.”

I did regret missing my prayer time though.

So I hop out of bed, grab a phone to call the school and tell them I’ll be there as soon as I can, and shout to my mom as I pull on some leggings and a plaid skirt and throw a turtleneck over my head. My mom, as always, was happy to drop what she was doing to make me breakfast and then pack me a lunch. She also dropped everything she had planned for the day to take care of my sick niece after I left today.

My mom has always been like that- set aside her plans to help any of us kids at a moment’s notice. Thanks mom.

God’s grace today and yesterday has been in the reminder of how blessed I am to have the parents I do.

Leave a Reply

