Day 11 – Ilah

This morning I woke up, as usual, with a million things on my “to do” list, but nothing really urgent. One of the difficulties of unemployment is that it seems you’re always doing something, yet accomplishing nothing at all. Talking to a friend last night she said that I was one of the hardest working people she knows. It was good to hear, since I’ve been feeling like such a slacker lately.

As I got up to eat breakfast, I was greeted–as I always am on Wednesdays and Fridays–by Ilah’s adorably messy face and carefree smile. After juggling her on my lap while I ate some cream of wheat, and passing her off between mom and dad while we alternately did the dishes and danced with her (Ilah points to the radio until we turn on her Bear Tunes (a singing bear) because she loves us to dance around while we hold her), mom was off to a hair appointment and dad to fix the car.

At first I was slightly annoyed, because no one asked if I could hang out with Ilah all morning. I thought of the run I would not get in, the applications I would not have time to work on.

But then I looked at the bright eyed little doll in front of me and felt so blessed to have this time with her.

She mainly just slid off my lap, picked out books, and then brought them back for me to read. I’d pull her back on my lap, start reading the book, and then let her go pick a new one each time she got bored – about 3 pages into the book- except one book which she not only let me finish, but had me read over at least 4 times in a row.

I got to sit and enjoy a lazy Friday morning with my adorable niece in her little pink polka dot flannel pjs as she sat on my lap- for almost 3 hours! How wonderful is that?

God’s grace today was in spending time with a little Ilah Peace that I am madly in love with.

One thought on “Day 11 – Ilah

  1. Funny how when God changes out “to do list”, it’s ALWAYS better. What could be more important than becoming Ilah’s favorite aunt?

Leave a Reply

