Is your God safe?

Safe? Don’t you hear what I’m saying? Who said anything about safe?
‘Course He’s not safe.

But He’s good.

These are famous lines from C.S. Lewis’ The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.

I’m just going to be honest and say I hate these lines. I hate these lines, because as a woman I know there are safe men and not safe men. I despise the thought of God being one of the unsafe men.

Lately I find myself saying a lot of prayers that go like this:

God, please teach me to be patient- but don’t give me a hard and long waiting period so I LEARN it, just add patience to my list of character traits!

or

Jesus, please teach me to be humble- but not through another painfully pride breaking experience, just give me humility for free this time!

I mean, I know that we make it through hard times and then we look back and we say something heroic like, “wow, that was tough, but I learned a lot and I’m a better person for it.”

Or we say  “Our God is so mysterious!”

Like it’s such a wonderful thing!?

Well maybe I don’t think it’s a wonderful thing. Maybe I value directness and honesty- maybe I would prefer to understand what’s going on in my life once in a while.

Ah, I’m being a little more negative than I mean to be because I just slammed my thumb in my dresser drawer a few minutes ago, but my point is this: if our God is not safe, how am I supposed to trust him?

Because right now I need to believe that God is safe, and I can trust him.

4 thoughts on “Is your God safe?

  1. I have loved and hated and pondered these lines for years. I don’t know that I will ever understand them. I so understand the need to realize that you can trust Him. I am praying for you friend.

  2. Krista,

    What does God being safe mean to you? I read this blog the day you posted it and am just now sitting down to do my “catch-up” correspondence. Your words stirred my heart, and made me ponder the lines you quote at the beginning,
    “Safe? Don’t you hear what I’m saying? Who said anything about safe?
    ‘Course He’s not safe.But He’s good.” C.S. Lewis

    I understand the dangers of unsafe men and unsafe women. Relationships with unsafe people can leave me broken and bleeding and wondering where I went wrong, when in fact it may be that it wasn’t me at all, except for the choice I made to open myself to an unsafe person. I also know the peace I find when I find a safe friend, the sweetness of sitting together and talking about nothing in particular and letting the words of the safe one settle into my person and embrace that I am loved.

    I had to think about the suggestion that God may not be safe. Safe to me means that I can trust God to do the right thing for me, even if the refining process seems like hell on earth. God is not safe for me to approach in my sinful self, because he cannot look at my depravity. But he is safe for me through a special loophole he provides in Jesus. Because of Jesus and his righteousness that extinguishes my sinful self, God is safe for me. and he is truly good. I hope you find the safety in God you want to find.

    Marilyn

  3. Thanks for your thoughts Marilyn, and the subtle reminder that women, as well as men, can be unsafe:) I remember talking with Nick once about this line from the book, and i think he explained it to me in a way that made sense, but I can’t remember what he said…

Leave a Reply

