Trusting (or not trusting) the Invisible Bridge

I had a dream last night that I was in a place like Indiana Jones in The Last Crusade- you know, the part at the end where he has to step out over what looks like a great hole, but actually has an invisible bridge to hold him. In my dream I couldn’t do it; I knew deep down that there was a bridge there, but I couldn’t see it, so I didn’t trust it. I just kept walking around looking for a bridge I could see and wasting time.

This is what life feels like right now. It feels like I have to step out into the unknown blindfolded, and though I know Jesus has got my back, I keep looking for a bridge I can see. I don’t want to job search, I don’t want to go on interviews, I don’t want to start a new job, I don’t want to build a new community, and I certainly don’t want to make any important decisions. Ahhh, why can’t the bridge be more obvious?

Why can’t this be easier.

In the movie, Indie throws marbles out over the chasm so he can see them landing safely on the invisible bridge before he steps out.

I don’t want to need the marbles. I want to- as the cliche goes- step out on faith. I want to step out when it looks like I will crash, because I know that I will be caught.

So Daniel was taken up out of the den, and no kind of harm was found on him, because he had trusted in his God. Daniel 6:23 ESV

2 thoughts on “Trusting (or not trusting) the Invisible Bridge

  1. I had a very similar dream, and I have been trying to find a meaning for it. I woke up and immediately described it too my wife that it was an invisible bridge in a setting very much like Indiana Jones. I don’t know the full extent of your dream but there were others in my dream that kept telling me to just have faith and take that step. A few months later at a service in church the pastor described a scenario that one may need to just take that leap of faith like that first step on the bridge in Indiana Jones, I’m still trying to make sense of all this, perhaps you could offer some insight?

  2. Thanks for your comment, Kyle. I don’t know what insight I can provide without knowing more of your life. I’d say just spend time meditation on where you are in life. Are there places you feel content? Discontent? Places you’re afraid to take risks or feel called to but don’t want to go? Then just listen.

Leave a Reply

