I Wish I Was Perfect

Today one of my clients said something along the lines of “it stinks that I can’t be perfect at everything.”

I was thinking it really does stink, I hate that I can’t be perfect all the time.

Truth is, though I know better, I probably spend almost every minute of almost every day trying to be perfect. And when I fall short, I say things to myself like, you’re such a moron/idiot/slacker/(and this season’s montra….drum role please…) FAILURE.

Despite my perfectionist leanings; however, there are some super cool things about not being perfect.

1- it confirms my humanity and helps me be less judgmental of others in theirs
2- it makes others less intimidated of me, no one wants a friend who’s perfect
3- Jesus

Let me explain number three.

One thing about not being perfect is that it reminds me of my need for Jesus (or that I have needs at all). As a fairly competent person who rocks at multi-tasking, I need this reminder a lot. If my shortcomings, inadequacies and failures didn’t remind me of my need for God, I would miss out on my most valued relationship (and probably every other relationship since I’d be quite the arrogant witch).

Further, my imperfection somehow glorifies God. As God told Paul, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness” (2 Cor. 12:9).

There it is…

Grace.

And now I can rest.

One thought on “I Wish I Was Perfect

Leave a Reply

