A Good Song

No creativity points for the title of this post.

Acknowledged.

Mike Crawford and His Secret Siblings are a Christian band I’ve come to love for the combination of scriptural reference and cultural relevance in their lyrics. They’re a band lead by the worship leader at Jacob’s Well, a church in KC that I enjoy visiting on occasional Sunday nights when I have time for an extra church service followed by a glass of wine in Westport.

Thanks to my friend, John Carrington, I was made aware that they have released a new album, Songs from Jacob’s Well Vol. III: Songs for the Advent Conspiracy. This album features a song that we’ve sung at Jacob’s Well, but I haven’t been able to purchase on i-tunes until recently.

*I love this song because of what it says about God’s love for us, and I hate this song because of how it convicts me of my lack of love for Him.*

Here’s a link to the song, and I’ve pasted the lyrics below.

A man comes to me
He asks for a drink
Asks it of me
How could this be?
He knows I’m unclean
And where would I draw?
This well is too deep
My reach is too short
It’s too short to reach
The water beneath
Perhaps I’ll just leave
Then He says to me

The water you seek
The water I bring
They’re two different things
I want you to see
I want you to drink
Deep of me

Then turning to me
He says “Would you think
Of times in your life
When I’ve asked before?”

I asked for a drink
Or asked to be clothed
Or asked to be heard
Or asked to be loved

Or asked for some food
Or asked to be warmed
Or asked to be healed
But you turned away

Because I was poor
Because I was weak
Because of the germs
Because of the stink

You didn’t have time
You had things to do
And people to see
And meetings to make

And emails to write
And parties to plan
And presents to buy
But nothing for me

The songs that you sing
The prayers that you pray
The worship you bring
Seem so empty to me

The water you seek
The water I bring
They’re two different things
I want you to see
I want you to drink
To drink deep of me

The water you seek
The water I bring
They’re two different things
I want you to see
I want you to drink
To drink deep of me

Please bring water
Please bring water to me
I want to drink
I want to see
I want to sing this water
Drink this water in deep
I want to be
I want to drink
And then believe
This water
Please bring water to me

Jesus comes tired
He asks for a drink
Asks it of me
How could this be?
He knows I’m unclean
And where would I draw?
This well is too deep
My reach is too short
It’s too short to reach
The water beneath
I can’t even speak
Then He said to me

The water you seek
Is the water I bring
When you’re looking for me
In the least one of these
I AM he
With whom you speak

Leave a Reply

