Maya

The answer to yesterday’s trivia, who said: “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel” is Maya Angelou.

I love this quote because it is at the core of what I am coming to learn about life- that it’s not so much about what I do, as it is about who I am. I used to be much more of a do-er and achiev-er and a take care of-er. Now I focus on relating to people. I focus on relating to people in an authentic way, an honest way, a way that gives them a different relational experience than maybe they’ve ever had before.

Another Maya Angelou quote from her classic, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, is “A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.”

Exactly.

No matter who you are, you have a song. You have a unique song that no other person on this earth has or will ever sing.

So sing it.

Leave a Reply

