To Be Loved

You know the old adage “it all comes down to love”?

I used to utterly disdain the thought that some surreal ideal like “love” would have so such an impact on our daily lives.

But yet again, my philosophy has changed. Whether we acknowledge it or not, love influences us. We search for love, we avoid love, we act out of love, we act out of our fear of love, we hide our love. Love scares us. Love scars us. Love moves us and love leaves us. As the cliche goes, “love is all around.” The question is, what will we do with it? If you’re like me, it’s a lot easier to give love than  receive it, to run from it than towards it, to avoid it than acknowledge it.

Recently, in a group I’m leading the author of our book suggested we write a love letter from God to ourselves. Cheesy, I know. But I think there’s something powerful to this. If you’re not a Christian, I still think this could be meaningful- imagine what a parent or spouse who loves you unconditionally would say. But how often do we allow ourselves to believe we are lovable? Versus- how often do we notice all our faults and feel completely unlovable?

This is my love letter, and following the love letter is  a love song by an artist who I’m starting to really appreciate.

Krista,
I’m writing to tell you, you are loved.
When you were young and you were playful, you were loved.
When you were kind and you served others, you were loved.
When you were hurt and became angry, you were loved.
When you grew and you stayed angry, you were loved.
When you grew more and became bitter, you were loved.
When you felt alone and depressed at college, you were loved.
When you acted in your flesh, you were loved.
When you felt overworked and overwhelmed, you were loved.
When you always needed to be in control, you were loved.
When you lost the ability to feel, you were loved.
When you gained it back again, you were loved.
When you doubted your faith, you were loved.
When you lost your way and your voice, you were loved.
When you found affection in the wrong places, you were loved.
When you grieved the loss of those relationships, you were loved.
When you felt completely covered in shame, you were loved.
When you were covered by my grace, you were loved.
When you cried in the night, you were loved.
When you gave up the fight, you were loved.
When you questioned my justice, you were loved.
When you questioned my goodness, you were loved.
When you questioned your own goodness, you were loved.
When you did the hard work of healing, you were loved.
And as you struggle on this journey always know-
You are loved.
Today and tomorrow-
You are loved.
In fear and in sorrow-
You are loved.
In anger and in doubt-
You are loved.
Without having it all figured out-
You are loved.
When you’re ugly,
When you sin,
When you’re fast,
And when you’re slow,
When you’re heartbroken,
And when you have joy,
When life seems too much,
And you are losing hope,
I love you.
I always have.
I always will.
I love you still.
I think you should know-
I love you.

Leave a Reply

