10 Things You Should Never Say to a Single Person

While sitting in our local coffee shop, Java Junction, this morning I overheard (okay, eaves dropped) as the owner read from a very interesting MSN internet article called 19 Things You Should Never Say to a Single Person. I’ve taken my top 10 “favorites” and written how I would respond to them if, A. I had no filter, and B. I didn’t believe that they were trying to be nice.

1. It happens when you’re not looking.
Everyone says they weren’t looking, but very few people graduate high school without thinking in the back of their minds that they’ll get married at some point during or after college. When you get married at 22, you don’t exactly have years to experience the question “will I ever get married?” or to consciously start “looking.”

2. So, why are you single?
So, why are you married?

3. You’re too picky.
Yep, I’m sure it would be much better if I just settled for anyone and then had an unhappy marriage where we fought every day and I stayed “for the kids’ sake”. That would be much better than- heaven forbid- staying single my whole life.

4. He’s out there.
How do you know? What if God’s will is for me to be single? I don’t need your platitudes to make me feel better about my life.

5. Just have fun with it!
Right. I must be single because I’m no fun at all.

6. Have you tried online dating?
Nope, but feel free to waste time and energy convincing me it’s my only hope.

7. Well, when my boyfriend and I first got together…
I know it’s hard to believe, but things don’t always work out the same way for others as they do for you.

8. Wow, I wish I were single and in your shoes!
Wow, I wish I were married and having sex like you are!

9. It will happen when you least expect it.
I didn’t expect it for years (you know, the years most of my friends were getting engaged and married); it still didn’t happen. I think you need to revise your theory.

10. But you’re so pretty! Why don’t you have a boyfriend?
Well, if it’s not my looks keeping me single, it must be my personality. Ouch.

I know I sound bitter, but I assure you, I’m smiling as I write this:)

4 thoughts on “10 Things You Should Never Say to a Single Person

  1. So I looked on your facebook just to read this because someone told me about it 😉

    I don’t think you’re bitter, I think you hit every single one on the dot 😀

    Thank you, Krista!

Leave a Reply

