Meditations for Women Who Do Too Much

I was recently in Breckenridge, Colorado where two friends and I wandered into a used bookstore. One of the first books Sasha noticed was one entitled Meditations for Women Who Do Too much by Anne Wilson Schaef. Sasha, possibly my least tactful friend, grabbed the book and shoved it into my chest. I bought it for three dollars.

Yesterday being January 1, was my first day reading it, and I have to say that I’m looking forward to reading it every morning of this year. So, I thought I’d share yesterday’s post since it’s short and, in my opinion, worthy of considering.

January 1

We women who do too much find the ending of an old year and the beginning of a new year to be a difficult time. There is always the temptation to try to “tidy up” all our loose ends as the old year closes. We fall into the trap of believing that it is possible to get our entire life “caught up” before starting a new year, and we are determined to do it.
Also, there is the temptation to set up an elaborate set of resolutions for the coming year so that we can, at last,
get it right. As workaholics, we tend to be very hard on ourselves: nothing less than perfection is enough. Hopefully on this first day of the year, we will be able to remember that we are perfect just as we are.

And she’s right. In Christ, we are all already perfect. So maybe this year, we can stop trying so hard to be.

One thought on “Meditations for Women Who Do Too Much

  1. I agree especially with the statement that “(as workaholics) we tend to be very hard on ourselves; nothing less than perfection is enough.” Although I do not consciously set up an elaborate set of resolutions, I find myself believing that if I do not get “caught up” which in my mind means, I complete everything I remotely recall that I wanted to do before moving on to a new adventure. It is those unconscious rules that trip me up, so I have to ask myself serious questions to discover my motivation.

Leave a Reply

