Pink Parking Spaces for Korean Women

http://news.yahoo.com/s/time/20090805/wl_time/08599191447100

Wow. Not quite sure how I feel about this. At first read, I was conflicted. On the one hand, I hate anything that suggests women need special treatment- last I checked women were just as capable of walking (and benefit as much from it) as men. On the other hand, I don’t think anyone – especially any woman who wears heels as much or more than I – would disagree that high-heels are simply more painful to walk in.

After finishing the article, I think my fear is that these “women friendly” parking spaces may be an attempt to put a band-aid on a gaping wound. I do not know anything about the status of women in South Korea or specifically Seoul, but the article states that Seoul is “notoriously macho” and women have a “secondary status” there. The author of the article also asserts it is very difficult for women in Seoul to work because of the high cost of childcare. I am not sure how providing closer parking spaces will help with these problems. Rather, I think this project which “aims to eliminate ‘the inconveniences, anxiety and discomfort that women in Seoul experience on a daily basis'” may backlash by causing women to be more ridiculed or harrassed due to their “delicate nature,” or inability to walk as far as men.

(sidenote, I also do not know what parking lots look like in Seoul, if the Seoul parking lots are a lot larger than those in America, and if much violence or harrassment happens during that time walking, then these pink parking spaces would clearly have a higher benefit)

Leave a Reply

