Hot Topic

carrieprejean_headshot1Carrie Prejean was slaughtered by judges and media for her answer to one of the Miss USA pageant questions. She was also praised by some, and has recieved more media attention than the winner- Miss North Carolina- herself.

Perez asked Carrie the question, “Vermont recently became the fourth state to legalize same sex marriage. Do you think every state should follow suit? Why or why not?”

Prejean answered: “Well I think it’s great that Americans are able to choose one or the other. Um, we live in a land that you can choose same sex marriage or opposite marriage and, you know what, in my country and in, in my family, I think that I believe that a marriage should be between a man and a woman. No offense to anybody out there. But that’s how I was raised and that’s how I think that it should be between a man and a woman.”

I have to say that being from California where gay marriage is obviously a big deal and recurring topic of conversation, I am surprised Ms. Prejean did not have a more thorough and well articulated answer to the question. I am not saying she should have answered differently or that I disagree with her answer. Rather, I am just bewildered that such a successful pageant contestant would not have thought out an answer that explained her beleifs about our country and gay marriage more coherently.

So good answer or bad answer? Political or not? Too religious or expression of free speech?

Bottom line: Carrie Prejean chose to elevate her faith above her life dream. She gave up years of hard work, a lot of money, and popularity, to stand for what she believed in. I wonder if anyone realizes the true sacrafice she made in order to follow God’s calling in her life rather than her own?

I wonder if I would do the same?

2 thoughts on “Hot Topic

    1. She did mention her faith specifically in multiple interviews afterwards. I think she even mentioned what the Bible says. She also said that winning the Pageant must not have been God’s will for her life at this time.

Leave a Reply

